Search
  • Stephanie Hansen

Audiobooks 2 Listen 2


Audiobooks are my jam. They went on a bit of a hold for me when Covid hit. Previously, I'd been traveling for work and my commute time was audiobook time. But they resurrected when I incorporated them with my walks during Covid. Now I listen while getting my steps in, during dish duty, and when folding laundry. It's the best. But how do you know what books to listen to? Do you have favorite narrators? Do some genres sound more appealing than others? Probably! Here are a few that may be of interest to you.


TOR is opening up for unagented submissions in June (***this is for you writers***) and you know you secretly love horror even if you publicly deny it...jk...lol...maybe ;) Well, why not prepare for the submission while listening to a few amazing authors' stories read by awesome narrators: https://read.macmillan.com/torforge/come-join-us-by-the-fire/ This might also lead you down a rabbit hole of good reading! Authors: China Miéville, Chuck Wendig, Richard Kadrey, Victor LaValle, Paul Tremblay, Priya Sharma, Sam J. Miller, Brooke Bolander, Alyssa Wong, Kij Johnson, and more. (For a total of 35 stories). All of them read by narrators like Saskia Maarleveld, Ramón de Ocampo, and Gerard Doyle.


Or perhaps you're a young adult lover at heart. Stories told from such a precious age. Okay, maybe precious is a bad choice of word to use. Exciting, heartbreaking, humiliating...yeah I'll stop. No matter the reason, these stories hold strong. A few from Penguin Random House could be good. I'm looking forward to The Cruelest Mystery by Natalie Mae (The Kinder Poison) audiobook read by Jesse Vilinsky. Natalie nailed it...the word for those teenage years...cruel! ;) http://jessevilinsky.com/


Maybe you like certain audiobook companies and you're a thriller/mystery fan. Be on the lookout for Unsympathetic Victims by Laura Snider. https://severnriverpublishing.com/laura-snider/ Or you might prefer Killer Triggers by Joe Kenda! https://www.blackstonepublishing.com/killer-triggers-joe-kenda Could it be you'd rather read something like Let Her Lie by Bryan Reardon. https://www.dreamscapepublishing.com/catalog/audiobooks/detail?Let%20Her%20Lie/Bryan%20Reardon/&id=00010267 Better yet, Her Last Summer by Melinda Woodhall possibly will suit your fancy. https://tantor.com/her-last-summer-melinda-woodall.html


Could it be that romance satisfies your taste? The Boyfriend Project by Farrah Rochon seems like a great vacation read. https://www.read-forever.com/titles/farrah-rochon/the-boyfriend-project/9781538716649/ Back in the Burbs by Avery Flynn could bring you a few needed laughs. https://entangledpublishing.com/books/back-in-the-burbs You see audiobooks works for many kind of genres.


Would you like to get out of this world and dive into one of fantasy or science fiction? Are you looking for an adventure? Then Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse might be exactly what you're looking for. https://www.simonandschuster.com/books/Black-Sun/Rebecca-Roanhorse/Between-Earth-and-Sky/9781534437678 Are you a fan of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass also an HBO original series? https://www.amazon.com/Golden-Compass-His-Dark-Materials-ebook/dp/B000FC1ICM Maybe you'd like Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett? https://www.harpercollins.com/products/good-omens-neil-gaimanterry-pratchett?variant=32179607502882


There are so many options available to you in Audiobook world. You can listen via audiobooks.com, Scribd, Audible, Spotify, Axis 360, Libby, and so much more. You can also support the author of this post by listening to the audiobook of her debut novel. (Per theaudiobookblog.com it's - "Well written, compassionate, fast paced, driven by an interesting story and filled with endearing characters, Replaced Parts is a more than promising first novel in what can become a great series for young adults and listeners of all ages. Fans of His Dark Materials and Red Rising should definitely give this one a try." https://theaudiobookblog.com/2021/04/07/review-replaced-parts-by-stephanie-hansen/ )

https://www.audible.com/pd/Replaced-Parts-Audiobook/1705267742

https://www.scribd.com/audiobook/500513766/Replaced-Parts

https://www.audiobooks.com/audiobook/replaced-parts/501550

https://tantor.com/replaced-parts-stephanie-hansen.html

https://navy.overdrive.com/media/6047248

#audiobooks #amreading #lostinbooks #whattoread #bookrecommendations

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All